Skip to content

The Two Week Wait

June 26, 2010

Two weeks really isn’t a long time unless there’s a chance you could be pregnant.  I don’t know how many of these two week time periods I have agonized over, but I do remember my first.

It was August of 2005.  I had just begun to experience some of the first signs of pregnancy, but was still on the pill.  I was tired all of the time, cramping, and had strange food cravings.  My cycles had become pretty regular since going on the pill, and we definitely weren’t trying.  But the symptoms continued and so we started to wonder.  I knew it was too early to test, but after a few days passed I started to get a little hopeful.  I decided to try my luck, but the test ended up negative.  Once the result came back I started Googling my symptoms to search for any glimmer of hope.  I even called Ask-A-Nurse to go over my symptoms and get their thoughts.  The nurse I spoke to warned me not to get my hopes up.  She said it was way too early and not to bother testing again until my cycle was late.

But each day my symptoms continued so my husband and I kept thinking that maybe this was it.  We thought about what we’d need to do to get our house in order, and wondered what’d be coming next.  Finally it came.  The two weeks ended, and my cycle was there just as it was the month before.  I was pretty disappointed, but knew God had a plan.  I remember thinking how much better it would be to finally see a positive after deciding it was actually time.  I reminded myself of how much more my husband and I wanted to do before that time came, and how much more we could provide for our child if we just waited a little longer.

And looking back now I definitely think God was using that time to nudge us where we needed to be.  Shortly after, we decided to move out of state and follow a new dream. We didn’t know what the future held, but that was part of the thrill. It was scary, exciting, and crazy, but we knew it was time to go.  Quickly and amazingly God allowed everything to fall into place. Within two short months we had jobs, a place to live, and the love of a new adventure.

I still haven’t seen a positive pregnancy test, and we’ve been through a lot since that first move.  But it still amazes me to see how God continues to work out His plan.  The move provided us with new jobs, and with them came new insurance.  It was that insurance that allowed us the ability to go through testing, receive treatments, and have access to some of the best doctors in the world.  Even if I had tried, there’s no way I could have planned it.  This move was truly a blessing, and though we still miss friends and family, I know now that God had an underlying purpose to get us where we needed to be.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Elena permalink
    June 30, 2010 12:01 PM

    It is such a great blessing to even be able to go through treatment. So many are prohibited by the massive expenses infertility treatments bring. And so many carry debt with them because of it.

    • June 30, 2010 12:17 PM

      I couldn’t agree more! I have no doubt that God placed me in the job He did because He knew I needed to go through the treatments to get me where I am today. I’m not sure what we would have done if we had to pay for everything, and truly feel for those having to endure the financial hardship of going through treatment on top of the emotional and physical pain they already bring.

Leave a Reply

