Actions Speak Louder than Words

If there is one thing parenting has taught me (and continues to teach me), it is that our actions speak so much louder than any words ever will. We can tell our kids to do something, but if we’re not a living example of how we hope they will behave as they grow, than our words will fall on deaf ears. We can say we’re a good parent, but if we don’t make the most of the time we get with our kids than we need to reevaluate our priorities. If we don’t model our faith, hard work, discipline, friendship, honesty, loyalty, strength, integrity, perseverance, forgiveness, kindness, etc. it will be much harder for our children to understand the importance of these virtues. We are the biggest example our children will learn from, and I’m so thankful my daughter has such an amazing man in her life.

My husband is incredible. He works long hours, but always makes sure our daughter and I know that we come first. He rushes home each night, often turning down important networking opportunities, in order to get as much family time in as possible before our daughter heads to bed. If there’s something he can’t get out of, he still manages to get home, and then sneaks out once our daughter’s gone to bed. He wakes up early to get his workouts in while she eats breakfast so he can model the importance of being healthy while still allowing us to have family time before he leaves for work.  He plans, prepares, and cooks all of our meals to make sure we are all eating well, and so that I have one less thing to worry about.

My husband delights in our daughter, always lighting up when she runs into his arms yelling “Daddy!”. He makes her stuffed animals come to life until she falls over in delight full of giggles. He loves, laughs, wrestles, reads, colors, plays games, has dance parties, snuggles, kisses, disciplines, and simply makes the most of every moment he gets with our precious girl.

My husband is also my best friend, and partner in life. He is a man of strength, and a man of God. He’s handsome, smart, talented, powerful, funny, honest, trustworthy, loyal, and the only man I would ever want leading my family or to grow old with. We’ve been together for almost 15 years, and I still feel like I’m continuing to fall in love with him more and more. He knows me better even than I know myself, and always supports my dreams. When I needed to have a career he was my biggest cheerleader. When I wanted to stay home to raise our daughter he made it happen. He has and continues to teach me how to love, laugh, have confidence in myself, trust God in all things, how to let go, and how to live. He loves me, challenges me, comforts me, believes in me, and is the most important person in my life. He makes me a better person, and he always makes sure I know I’m the only woman in the world that matters to him.

My husband models what it means to live out your faith, to love and cherish your family, to work hard, follow your dreams, to be disciplined, and to set priorities in your life. She doesn’t know it now, but everything he does is showing her love, building her confidence, instilling her values, setting the foundation for their relationship as she grows, and serving as a living example of what a real man, husband, and father is. He’s the kind of man I pray our daughter finds when she’s older (much older), and through him she can see the blessings that come when you marry a man that leads your family in faith, is your best friend, your life partner, reminds you of your value, and is a man that you know will always love, honor and support you throughout life.

Leave a comment