Skip to content

Coping with Infertility: How Family and Friends Can Help

January 30, 2011

To family, friends, and complete strangers…

This is a post I hope everyone… those struggling with infertility, friends and family of those struggling with infertility, those of you with children of your own, and the general public with no tie to infertility… reads.

Infertility is real, and is beyond a battle with doctor visits and test results, but is a battle that stabs at the very core of our existence.  For those of you that do not know someone struggling with infertility, let me be honest… you do.  You may not realize it, you may not have been told, but everyone knows someone dealing with infertility.  If you don’t know the person, then that means they are keeping it to themselves and need you more than they could ever say.  Most people prefer not going public with this battle, and in all honesty it is a very private struggle for every person going through it so I can understand their secrecy.  But that is why I started this blog in the first place.  I’ve been there, struggled with it, and continue to learn and grow from this never ending battle.  I’m here to share my simple story so others can know they aren’t the only ones going through it even if they never tell a single soul outside their spouse.

So I’m writing this for whoever comes across this blog, and I ask that you simply do one thing… read this article:

Coping with Infertility: How Family and Friends Can Help

It is from Resolve: The National Infertility Association, and is a very good glimpse at the reality one faces when struggling to conceive.  I would say it’s the most accurate article I have read about infertility, and is a must read for everyone.

——-

Note: Resolve offers support groups, informational material, and a number of resources throughout the USA.  You can visit them on Facebook or follow them on Twitter.  I have no affiliation with Resolve, and am simply referring you to them as a resource that I have found valuable.

Blog posts relating revealing my personal journey with infertility will be continue to be posted on Fresh Conceptions.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2011 1:11 PM

    Thank you for this post! You are so right in saying “For those of you that do not know someone struggling with infertility, let me be honest… you do”.

    I would love for you to join in on my awareness campaign for National Infertility Awareness Week (NIAW – April 24 – 30). I am asking people to contact their local library to ask them to display infertility related books for NIAW. Please check it out here: http://thehopefuljourney.blogspot.com/2011/01/national-infertility-awareness-week.html

Trackbacks

  1. Coping with Infertility: How Family and Friends Can Help (via Fresh Conceptions) « l.i.b.e.r.a.t.i.o.n. theory

Leave a Reply

